FAB 0018 Luigi Boccherini: Stabat Mater - Symphonic & Chamber Music

FAB 0018 Luigi Boccherini: Stabat Mater - Symphonic & Chamber Music

Stabat Mater - Symphonic & Chamber Music

Label: Amadeus Best

Composers: Luigi Boccherini

Artists: Il quartettone

CD 1 

Tatiana Korovina, soprano 

Mario Brunello, cello

Carlo De Martini, concertmaster & conductor

CD 2

Mario Brunello, cello

Il Quartettone

Carlo De Martini, concertmaster and conductor

CD 3

Le Ricordanze, string quartet

Carlo De Martini, first violin

Stefano Barneschi, second violin

Livia Baldi, viola, Caterina Dell’Agnello, cello

Mario Brunello, first cello

Format: 3 CD

Cat. number: FAB 0018

Release: October 2022

Preview Tracks CD 1

1. Stabat Mater

2. Cujus Animam

3. Quae moerebat

4. Quis est homo

5. Pro peccatis

6. Eja mater

7. Tui nati

8. Virgo virginum

9. Fac ut portem

10. Fac me plagis

11. Quando corpus

12. Sinfonia in Do minore Op.41 G.519 - I Allegro vivo assai

13. II Pastorale - Lentarello

14. III Minuetto - Allegro

15. IV Finale - Allegro

Preview Tracks CD 2

1. Concerto per Violoncello n. 11 in Do maggiore G.573 - I Maestoso

2. II Largo cantabile

3. III Allegro comodo

4. Concerto per Violoncello n. 7 in Re maggiore G.476 - I Allegro

5. II Largo

6. III Allegro a piacere

7. Concerto per Violoncello n. 5 in Mi bemolle maggiore G.474 - I Allegro moderato

8. II Largo

9. III Rondò - Allegro

Preview Tracks CD 3

1. Quintetto G 275 in mi mag. - I Amoroso

2. II Allegro con spirito

3. III Minuetto. Con un poco di moto

4. IV Rondeau. Andante

5. Quartetto in re mag. G189 - I Moderato

6. II Grave

7. III Allegro assai

8. Quartetto in sol min. G 196 - I Larghetto

9. II Minuetto

10. Quintetto in mi bem. G 304 - I Sostenuto

11. II Moderato


Boccherini, one of the most unjustly neglected composers of the eighteenth century, appears innovative, surprising and, why not, unscrupulous. In these pages we have gathered together a highly significant panorama of the art of the composer from Lecco, who knew how to be varied not only in the multiplicity of genres he dealt with (from sacred music, such as the Stabat Mater, to symphonic and chamber music) but also within the same genre, where the wealth of ideas, writings and forms is surprising. This is refined music that does not seem to be aimed at the audience of halls and theatres, but at true connoisseurs, and is all the more appreciable if performed according to the right rhythms, even if uneven, and mobile dynamics. A panorama as varied and at the same time as classical and full of pathos as a sculpture by Canova.