ALC 0042 L. Janáček

ALC 0042 L. Janáček

Piano Sonata 1.X.1905 “From the Street”
On an overgrown path / Po zarostlém chodníčku (1901-1908)
Series I / Řada I
In the mists / V mlhách (1912)
Tema con variazioni (Variations “Zdenka”) (1880)

Category: Classical Music

Composers: Leoš Janáček

Artists: Galya Kolarova

Piano: Galya Kolarova

Format: 1 CD

Cat. number: ALC 0042

Release: February 2021

Leoš Janáček (1854-1928) has been characterized as a composer who bridges the worlds of the Romantic and Avant-Garde. Janáček's Piano Sonata 1.X.1905 "From the Street" was intended as a reaction to the death of František Pavlík (1885-1905), who on 1 October 1905 was bayoneted to death during demonstrations in support of a Czech university in Brno. The little pieces of the cycle On an Overgrown Path contain distant memories. At first On an Overgrown Path was a collection of six harmonium pieces. By 1908 the cycle had grown to nine pieces, and was by then intended for piano instead of harmonium. It was in the spring of 1912 that Janáček completed the piano cycle In the Mists. All four parts of the cycle are largely written in "misty" keys with five or six flats. “Zdenka” Theme and Variations is a work which embraces the traditional tonal, Romantic style, but also uses folk elements and harmonic traits which anticipate Janáček’s later compositions.

Preview Tracks

1. The Presentiment / Předtucha

2. The Death / Smrt

3. Our evenings / Naše večery

4. A blown-away leaf / Lístek odvanutý

5. Come with us! / Pojd’te s námi!

6. The Frýdek Madonna / Frýdecká Panna Maria

7. They chattered like swallows / Štěbetaly jak laštovičky

8. Words fail! / Nelze domluvit!

9. Good night! / Dobrou noc!

10. Unutterable anguish / Tak neskonale úzko

11. In tears / V pláči

12. The barn owl has not flown away! / Sýček neodletěl!

13. Andante

14. Molto adagio

15. Andantino

16. Presto

17. Tema con variazioni